Montgomery County Illinois Clerk & Recorder
Montgomery County Clerk & Recorder
Untitled Document

Click To Go To The Montgomery County Website Homepage

Find Us On Facebook

Phone: (217) 532-9530
Fax: (217) 532-9581
County Clerk Email:
County Recorder Email:
Hours: Monday-Friday
8:00am - 4:00pm

Montgomery County Clerk & Recorder
P.O. Box 595
Physical Address:
#1 Courthouse Square
Hillsboro, IL 62049-0595

Quick Links


Untitled Document

2020 General Election

Tuesday, November 3, 2020 - Polls Open 6AM - 7PM

Due to COVID-19, all 2020 General Election voters are encouraged to cast a ballot prior to Election Day, either by mail or during early voting. Voting by mail is an easy option for voters and you can request a vote by mail ballot by completing our Vote By Mail Ballot Application and sending it to us via email, mail, or in person.

A link to our Vote By Mail Ballot Application and Guidelines is here:
Vote by Mail Application Guideline

Click HERE to see if you are registered to vote or find your polling place.

Last Day to Register To Vote Offsite Prior To The Election
October 6, 2020

Vote By Mail / Early Voting Period
September 24, 2020 - November 2, 2020

Last Day We Can Receive A Vote By Mail Ballot Application
October 29, 2020

Click for a list of important election related dates, plus more information on Vote By Mail & Grace Period Voting!

About Us

Sandy Leitheiser
Montgomery County Clerk & Recorder

Historic Courthouse, Hillsboro IL

Mailing address:
Montgomery County Clerk & Recorder
P.O. Box 595
Hillsboro, IL 62049-0595

Phone: (217) 532-9530
Fax: (217) 532-9581

Hours: Monday-Friday 8:00am - 4:00pm
(Closed on Holidays)

The office of the County Clerk is an elected office with a four-year term, the principal duties of which are defined by Illinois statute.

The office of County Clerk is located on the first floor of the Historic Courthouse, in Hillsboro, IL.

The duties and responsibilities of the County Clerk are many and varied, but in essence the office can be described as the clerical arm of Montgomery County Government.

The main functions of this office include:

  • Serving as Clerk to the County Board and performing such duties as officially filing all matters to be brought before the Board, notifying all Board members and local media of meetings, preparing and publishing the minutes of the Board meetings and keeping accurate files of Board minutes.

  • Serving as Recorder of Deeds, filing Assumed Business Names and recording and certifying Military Discharge papers.

  • Administering and delivering such services to the general public as issuance of marriage licenses, civil unions, commissioning notary publics, receiving delinquent tax payments, maintaining population statistics and equalized assessed valuation records of the County as well as for all public entities within the county.

  • Administering and delivering tax services such as annually calculating the tax rates for various taxing bodies and working with the Supervisor of Assessments, Board of Review, County Auditor, County Treasurer and Collector to issue property tax bills.

  • Conducting and administering voter registration services and election proceedings. Serving as Election Authority administering all Montgomery County elections.

  • Maintaining the County's vital statistics, including records of births and deaths and marriage certificates and reporting statistics to the State, as required by law.

Past County Clerks of Montgomery County Illinois

Hiram Rountree - Appointed April 7, 1821 and served until elected August 7, 1837 - 1839

Oliver Coudy - August 5, 1839 - 1841

Benjamin Sammons - August 7, 1841 - 1857

John T. Taddox - November 7, 1857 - 1861

Issac Blackwelder - November 25, 1861 -1865

William D. Shirley - November 23, 1865 - 1873

George M. Raymond - November 12, 1873 - 1882

Henry H. Keithley - December 1, 1882 - 1886

Brewer A. Hendricks - December 6, 1886 - 1894

William L. Seymour - November 27, 1894 - 1898

John M. Shoemaker - December 5, 1898 - 1906

A.N. Banes - November 27, 1906 - 1914

A.H. Bartlett - November 25, 1914 - 1922

Mike Godfrey - November 29, 1922 - 1942

Ira W. White - November 1942 -1946

Edward R. Butler - November 1946 - 1950

Eunice Giese (May) Russell - December 1950 - 1982

Clinton Kimbro - December 1982 - 1998

Sandy Leitheiser - December 1998 - Present

Untitled Document

Montgomery County Home
About Us
News & Press

Birth Certificates
Death Certificates
Civil Union Licenses
Marriage Licenses
Military Discharge Records
Genealogical Research
Statistics & Census

Election Ballots
Election Results
Info For Candidates
Election Judges
Election Maps


Tax Redemption
Tax Extensions
Tax Objection
Mobile Homes
Annexations, Dissolutions & Organization of Taxing Districts
Plat Surveys
Getting A Copy of A Tax Bill
Who To Contact With Questions
Tax District Forms/Certificates
Assumed Business Name
Campaign Disclosure
Notary Commissions
Statement of Economic Interest
Freedom Of Information Act
(FOIA) Requests

Mine Information

See the Montgomery County website for information.

About The Recording Office
Recording Fees
Common Recording Errors
Document Checklist
Land Records Search
Military Discharge Records
Veterans Memorial List
Contact Us
Untitled Document